Posted by eir GAA

McKeever named footballer of the year.

Jim'll fix it

Derry’s Jim McKeever was the first winner of the Texaco Footballer of the Year award. The Ballymaguigan clubman was captain of the Derry side who lost the 1958 All-Ireland final to Dublin. Like Kerry’s Mick O’Connell he was renowned for his high fielding. He was a versatile performer and a skilful all-rounder who eventually became one of the greatest midfielders in the history of the game.