Posted by eir GAA

Plenty of teams opt out.

Queen’s come second

Just three of the ten Leinster counties entered the 1889 championship that was eventually won by Queen’s County - better known these days as Laois. An All-Ireland semi-final between the winners of Connacht and Ulster was advertised with no chance of the fixture ever taking place. Tipperary won the All-Ireland final3-6 to no score.