Posted by eir GAA

The first All-Ireland championship.

Championship time

The GAA establishes an All-Ireland championship to establish which of the 675 clubs is the best in the land. The championship was open to all affiliated clubs who would first compete in county-based competitions. The draw was an open one with each county represented by their top club. However only 12 counties enter the football championship and the final wasn’t played until the following April.